Fuel for Thought

Dr. Shah honoured by Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers

Jun 12 2018 Read 396 Times

Dr. Raj Shah, Director at Koehler Instrument Company was honoured recently by the International Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers (STLE), at its annual meeting in Minneapolis with the prestigious PM Ku Medal. The P.M. Ku Medal is the second highest STLE award, and was established in 1978 to recognize outstanding and selfless achievements. STLE is the premier international technical society serving the needs of more than 13,000 individuals and numerous companies and organizations worldwide that comprise the tribology petroleum and lubrication engineering business sector. STLE members are experts who research, develop and market the methods and products that make industry more successful and that enhance the well-being of people worldwide and its members are employed by the world's leading corporations and academic institutions and by governmental agencies dealing with science and technology.

Shah has been active STLE member for over two decades and during that time has served in various capacities : as its Annual meeting technical chair, Lubrication education course chair, Fundamental lubrication committee chair, Technical editor and numerous other leadership positions.

Dr. Raj Shah, is a Fellow of National Lubricating Grease institute ( NLGI International ) since 2007, was elected Fellow at Society of Tribology and Lubrication engineers (STLE International) in 2016, and was recently also conferred a title of Fellow from the Energy institute, UK. A previous recipient of the ASTM Award of Excellence thrice in his career, and the ASTM Eagle award, Dr. Shah was also recently conferred the distinguished alumni award from the Institute of Chemical technology (ICT). A Chartered Scientist with the Science Council, UK, he is currently involved in working closely with several universities and is on the industrial advisory board at: The Department of Chemical Engineering at the State University of New York, Stony Brook, The School of Engineering, Design, Technology and Professional programs (SEDTAPP) at Pennsylvania State University, and the Samuel Ginn College of engineering, Tribology and lubrication science minor at the Auburn University.

Raj is the youngest recipient of the PM Ku medal and in accepting the award he credited the unsung heroes of STLE, mainly its staff that works tirelessly behind the scenes year around.

Read comments0

Do you like or dislike what you have read? Why not post a comment to tell others / the manufacturer and our Editor what you think. To leave comments please complete the form below. Providing the content is approved, your comment will be on screen in less than 24 hours. Leaving comments on product information and articles can assist with future editorial and article content. Post questions, thoughts or simply whether you like the content.

Digital Edition

Petro Industry News June / July 2018

July 2018

In This Edition... Fuel for Thought - A good year for Endress+Hauser - Dr. Shah honoured by Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers - DURAG Group acquire AP2E Analytical Instru...

View all digital editions


ONS 2018

Aug 27 2018 Stavanger, Norway

Abu Dhabi International Downstream

Sep 03 2018 Abu Dhabi, UAE

World Heavy Oil Congress & Exhibition

Sep 03 2018 Muscat, Oman

POC 2018

Sep 04 2018 Los Angeles, CA, USA


Sep 04 2018 Kazan, Russia

View all events